In this article

Introduction 

Concept 

Roles and Permissions 

Permission Reference

Read Next 


Introduction

Administration, control, and access of various entities in a Portal play a key role in application management with respect to an organization. The level of granularity with which the functions, settings, rules, and procedures can be defined eases the process of streamlining how an organization uses the system. This can only be achieved by varying role definitions of each user to equip them with different levels of authoritative and contributive options within the Portal.


Concept

User Roles determine the access level and permissions of a person authorized to use VIDIZMO. In a default VIDIZMO installation, there are certain predefined roles assigned to users with a default set of permissions. We will be looking at these roles and their permissions in more depth below:

 

Roles and Permissions

In VIDIZMO Digital Evidence Management System, roles define the permissions which control access to various features within the Digital Evidence Management system. Each portal user is assigned a certain role based on their required access control. Below is a list of pre-configured roles along with their set of permissions



Note: VIDIZMO also allows its valuable customers to customize these roles with designed set of permissions. Please contact VIDIZMO Support Team for more information.


Permission Reference

The following table provides the default permissions for the pre-configured roles in VIDIZMO DEM.


Note: The permissions discussed in the table below, are applicable if the portal's Security Policy is set to Decide when Publishing. This means that access permissions on every media shall be the sole determinant of who can view this media. Also, there are certain media-related permissions such as Sharing, Downloading and Commenting that when enabled on a Group, will only be applicable on a media file if the same permissions are enabled on that media's publish settings.


Please note that actions Allowed for a user role are only applicable on the media accessible to the user in questui.


PermissionAdministrator
ManagerModeratorContributorViewerAnonymous
Login Access





Login to the PortalAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedNot Allowed
Search Access





User SearchAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Evidence SearchAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed
Case SearchAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed
Metadata Search (Evidence/Case)AllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed
Search within Closed CaptionsAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed
Case Management





Creating a CaseAllowedAllowedAllowedConfigurableConfigurableNot Allowed
Adding existing Evidence to a CaseAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Uploading Evidence files within a CaseAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Modifying Case SettingsAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Deleting CaseAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Adding Case to Quick Access sectionAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedNot Allowed
Sharing Case (If Case Sharing Enabled)AllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed
Grant Access Rights (via Limited Share)AllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Viewing Chain of Custody of a CaseAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Downloading Chain of Custody of a CaseAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Unpublishing CaseAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Inspecting CaseAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed
Moving Case from one Folder to anotherAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Evidence Management





Uploading EvidenceAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedNot Allowed (If UGC Disabled)Not Allowed
Modifying Evidence Basic Details (Title, tags, closed captions file)AllowedAllowedAllowedOnly their ownNot AllowedNot Allowed
Modifying Evidence Access Rights PolicyAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Modifying Evidence Publishing RulesAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Grant Access Rights (via Limited Share)AllowedAllowedAllowedConfigurableConfigurableNot Allowed
Deleting EvidenceAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Moderating EvidenceAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Evidence Tamper Detection (If App Enabled)AllowedAllowedAllowedOnly their ownNot AllowedNot Allowed
Viewing Evidence Chain of CustodyAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Downloading Evidence Chain of CustodyAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Evidence Downloading (if Allow Downloading is checked in Publish Settings)AllowedAllowedAllowedConfigurableConfigurableConfigurable
Evidence Sharing (if Allow Sharing is checked in Publish Settings)AllowedAllowedAllowedConfigurableConfigurableAllowed
Unpublishing an EvidenceAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Moving Evidence to other FolderAllowedAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Adding Evidence to Quick Access sectionAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedNot Allowed
Viewing Notes (if Allow Notes is checked in Publish Settings)AllowedAllowed
Allowed
ConfigurableConfigurableConfigurable
Adding Notes  (if Allow Notes is checked in Publish Settings)AllowedAllowedAllowedConfigurableConfigurableNot Allowed
Evidence Re-uploadAllowedAllowedAllowedOnly their ownNot AllowedNot Allowed
Viewing Annotations
AllowedAllowed
Allowed
Configurable
Configurable
Allowed
Adding AnnotationsAllowedAllowedAllowedConfigurableConfigurableNot Allowed
Evidence can be Assigned toAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed (if External Sharing is Allowed)
Custom Attributes Tab AccessAllowedAllowedAllowedConfigurableConfigurableNot Allowed
Share Evidence link via EmailAllowedAllowedAllowedConfigurableConfigurableConfigurable
Evidence Inspection





Inspecting Evidence (Can be Controlled with Access Settings)AllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed
User Access





View and Edit Account InformationAll UsersAll UsersOnly their ownOnly their ownOnly their ownNot Allowed
Invite/Register UsersAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Create Group of UsersAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Add members is a GroupAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed Not AllowedNot Allowed
Remove members from a GroupAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Edit group detailsAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Create permissions for GroupsAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Admin Access





Configure Portal's Security PolicyAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Edit Portal SettingsAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
User AdministrationAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Configuring Storage Providers -Add or update Storage Providers AllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Configuring Encoding ProfilesAllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Setup Wizard (Complete Workflow details)AllowedAllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
Configure E-mail Templates and SMTP Protocols  
Allowed
AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed



Note: In the table above, configurable permissions can be controlled using Group Permissions. To learn more about it, see: Understanding User Groups to Manage Access Rights and Permissions.