Channel Access and Viewing Access. Channel Membership allows Administrators and Managers to define governance controls that determine who can access your Channel/portal and view media published in the library.


In Internal membership type, all media uploaded in the Channel will be accessible internally i.e. to all Account and Channel users. Channel Membership Types are preset configurations based on typically what customers require including a Custom option for those who prefer to customize their settings to meet specific business requirements. These preset Channel Membership Types are:


- Public

- Internal

- Restricted

- Hidden

- Custom, and 

- Subscription (for MediaCommerce only).


Each of these types further provides two groups of settings - Viewing Access and Channel Access:


Membership Types


Here is what each of these Channel Membership types represents:


1. Public: In the Public membership type, all media uploaded in the Channel is anonymously available, and any authenticated or a non-authenticated user can access it for viewing. With the Public membership type, the Channel is also anonymously accessible with the Join Request option is enabled by default, automatically approving all join requests. Users with Manager+ roles can manually add users to the Channel using their email addresses. All users are allowed to participate i.e. post comments, like media, add to favorites etc.

2. Internal: In the Internal membership type, all media uploaded in the Channel is accessible internally i.e. to all Account and Channel users. In this type, the Channel is also anonymously accessible with the Join Request option is enabled by default. Users with Manager+ roles can manually add users to the Channel using their email addresses while only the join requests from Account users are approved. All Account and Channel users are allowed to participate in this Channel.

3. Restricted: In the Restricted membership type, all media uploaded in the Channel is accessible to Channel users only. This Channel is not anonymously accessible, but users can be added manually by using their email addresses. The Join Request option is enabled by default and all join requests will require approval from either administrator or manager. Only Channel users are allowed to participate in this Channel.

4. Hidden: In the Hidden membership type, all media uploaded in the Channel is accessible to Channel users only. This Channel is not anonymously accessible, and users cannot be added manually to this Channel. Furthermore, Join Request option is disabled by default. The Channel will also be hidden from listing, and only Channel users are allowed to participate in this Channel.

5. Custom: In the Custom membership type, media accessibility is decided while publishing the media however you can change this option if it does not fit your Channel requirements. Sharing of media files with external users is also allowed in this Channel. The Channel is anonymously accessible, and users can be added manually by using their email address. Join Request option is enabled by default and all join requests require approval from either an administrator or manager. All authenticated users are allowed to participate in this Channel. 


Note: By default, the Custom membership type is selected and you can customize all settings for this membership type.


6. Subscription: Subscription Membership type only applies to MediaCommerce package. In this membership type, the viewing access of all media uploaded in the Channel is decided while publishing the media. Sharing of media files with external users is also allowed in this Channel. The Channel is anonymously accessible, and users can be added manually by using their email address. Join Request option is enabled by default and all join requests require approval from either an administrator or manager. An Administrator or a Manager can manually add users to the Channel by using their email addresses. All authenticated users are allowed to participate in this Channel.


Viewing and Channel Access


All the Membership Types mentioned above are further classified into two distinct categories: the Viewing and Channel Access.


1. Viewing Access


VIDIZMO provides an option to set and control the viewing access for Channel users. Viewing Access gives users the ability to control the access type when media is uploaded. Administrators and Managers can also pre-define these settings to ensure the security of the content.


  • Authenticated Viewers: Administrator and Managers can authenticate certain viewers granting them access to content.

    • All Account Channel Viewers: By selecting the checkbox, all viewers that belong to a Channel or Account are granted access.

    • All Channel Viewers: By selecting the checkbox, only the Channel viewers are granted access.

    • Allow Sharing With External Users: By selecting this checkbox, only those viewers that are specified by the Administrator and Manager are granted access to the content. These viewers are not a part of the Account or Channel.

  • Anonymous Users: By selecting anonymous users, the Administrator/Manager allows anyone to access the content.

  • Decide When Publishing: By selecting this option, users can make the decision while uploading content. This helps users to strategize according to the nature of the content.


2. Channel Access


VIDIZMO Administrators can control and set the Channel accessibility through the Membership Type form. Channel access gives the Administrators and Managers the ability to control the access of users on the Channel. By pre-defining these settings, the security of the Channel is ensured.


  • Anonymous Access: By selecting this checkbox, any user can get access to the Channel. Once inside the Channel, a user can join and become part of the Channel and can also access publically available content.

  • Hide Channel From The Listing: By selecting this checkbox, the Channel will be hidden from the menu, featured list and All Channel page for non-registered members. It will only be accessible through Channel URL. To know more about hiding a Channel from the listing, click on How To Hide Channel From Non-Members.

  • Allow Adding Users Manually: By selecting this checkbox, Administrator/Manager can add users manually from Users & Groups.

  • Allow Join Request: This checkbox enables/disables the Join Request option of a Channel. If the Join Request option is disabled, then the option is hidden from the top menu bar, sign-in page, and all Channels page. However, if it is turned on, then anyone can join a Channel. Administrator/Manager can set approval settings as per need. 

    Approval settings define how an Administrator/Manager wants to moderate join request of users. By selecting “None,” no request will be auto-approved, and Administrator/Manager will manually accept requests. By selecting “All Requests,” the Administrator/Manager will not have to approve each request rather they will be automatically approved manually. 


    To learn more about approval settings, click on How To Change Approval Settings For Join Request

  • Allow Participation: Users can participate by commenting, liking, featuring, and downloading media files. By selecting All Authenticated Users check box, all Account and Channel users can participate. All [Channel Name] Users will only enable the Channel users to participate. By selecting None, no user can participate.